About CITC »

Cook Inlet Region

The Cook Inlet region of southcentral Alaska represents Cook Inlet Tribal Council’s core service area. While the region approximates the traditional homeland of the Dena’ina Athabascan people, CITC participants reflect the diversity of all Alaska Native cultures. The region is served by the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) regional Native Corporation Cook Inlet Region, Inc. (CIRI).


Courtesy of CIRI

Native villages of the Cook Inlet region include Eklutna, Knik, Salamatof, Tyonek, Chickaloon, Ninilchik and Seldovia. ANCSA further recognized the group sites of Alexander Creek, Caswell, Gold Creek, Montana Creek and Point Possession.

The coastal city of Kenai is one of four cities (Kenai, Kodiak, Juneau and Sitka) recognized by ANCSA as an urban center with a significant Alaska Native population, primarily the Kahtnuht’ana Dena’ina people of the Kenaitze Indian Tribe on the Kenai Peninsula.

Federally Recognized Tribes within the Cook Inlet Region